Out of Control Photography

I usually cite 1997 as the year I started taking photography seriously as my main form of artistic expression, so over the last 20 years of creative practice, school and teaching others I’ve absolutely internalized a lot of photographic rules and commonly accepted wisdom.  It’s very easy to make a photo that ticks all the boxes of what’s supposed to happen in a photo- which is why I’ve been stretching myself in the last few months to make work that surprises myself.  One of the main strategies is to use a camera where I can’t 100% full compose the picture, the Fujifilm Instax Mini 90 Neo Classic, and I shoot material where either I’m in motion, the model is in motion, or we do some random effect to it like double exposure or damaging the film.

Inevitably this leads to some garbage shots, but no higher percentage than the ones I would say I get by doing straight “composed in the viewfinder” type of work.

The above images were shot with model Kaila Stone in my Tempe studio, and we had a blast getting crazier and crazier with the instax- tossing them in the air, doing non-portrait portraits with the leg jammed through a backdrop.  These were voted favorites over all the more straighter, “everything in its right place” type images.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

