Skillshare – my favorite tutorial site

 

Last year I was determined to grow as an artist in new directions- I was able to upgrade my computer and imaging gear, pay for the Adobe Creative Cloud and use all their programs beyond the photographic ones, and I traveled outside of my normal LA/ Seattle/ Arizona loop.

New_Project 2With new directions come new learning curves, and the tutorial site that has helped me the most by far is Skillshare.  I used it to get my business in order, learn Adobe Illustrator and After Effects and InDesign, learned graphic design of posters, and more.

IMG_2564Beyond that, I’ve been able to bring the stuff I teach locally in the Phoenix Metro to a worldwide audience.  Currently my classes involve photography (Mixed Media Image Transfer + Capturing the Great Outdoors + Speed Up Your Workflow In Lightroom) , videography (Get Surreal With Adobe Premiere), sculpture (Create A Caricature in Clay Without A Studio), and graphic design (Build Your Creative Cloud Library With Adobe Capture).  I’m prepping classes on Creative Photographic Portraiture, Voice Editing for Adobe Premiere and Audition, and Making Motion Comics, all of which will be up before the summer ends.

get surreal in adobe premiereIn the meantime, anyone out there who wants to try out Skillshare, here’s a lovely referral code for a 3 month trial for .99!

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

3 thoughts on “Skillshare – my favorite tutorial site”

    1. I would suggest making a few classes quickly, back to back, and make improvements each time you do one- you’ll know where the deficiencies are as soon as you’ve published them. Also it’s easier to get past the 25 signup mark if you make your classes more beginner level, and getting past 25 is when you start getting paid! You can do more in-depth tutorials as the months go on and your channel will develop its own flavor, but out of the gate you want to accumulate followers and up the quality of your classes.

      1. Thank you so much for the advise! I’m still working on the first class but as soon as I get it up, I’ll then start on a second class. It’s a good idea to go more in-depth as the month goes on, I like that.

Leave a Reply

