Water Baby – underwater fashion with GoPro

DCIM100GOPROG0471757.

While shooting at the Frank Ockenfels Palm Springs Photo Fest workshop, Frank challenged us to do things we had never tried before- stay away from our usual methods of photographing.  I realized I had always avoided using my small cameras for still work, relying on my current Fuji X-T1 and all previous incarnations of DSLR/ Mirrorless to do the heavy lifting during my shoots.  When I started using the smaller instax mini camera last year and taking the shooting seriously, the interest in that work dramatically shot up, so I decided this was a good opportunity to seriously try to get some cool still images out of another kind of camera, my GoPro Hero Black 4.  DCIM100GOPROG0451755.

We had a hotel in Indio rented for the day and access to the pool.  Typically you’ll get a model who wants to do underwater, but no pool, or have a pool but no photography allowed.  DCIM100GOPROG0431751.

The GoPro transmits images to your phone while you are shooting via wi-fi, but my phone was so close to death that I basically shot blind.  You can shoot 30 frames at once at 12mp, so it’s not quite the crap shoot as it sounds.DCIM100GOPROGOPR1743. DCIM100GOPROG0361738. DCIM100GOPROG0161714.This last one is from my usual Fuji X-T1, backup in case nothing from the GoPro came out.  Since we naturally spend a lot of time in and around water during the Arizona summers, I’m already lining up as many underwater shoots as I can fit in a schedule!hotel day pspf (456 of 482)

If you enjoy any of this work I encourage you to like it and share it!  For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

