New video art “Shapeshifter”

“Shapeshifter” is another slice of video art featuring a model, this time my old friend Percolate.

There were a few things I did differently with this one:

1. it was shot in my backyard largely on my Fuji X-T1, as opposed the GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition;  the main reason was manual exposure control which I have on the X-T1.  At nighttime, and inconsistent lighting conditions resulting from me swinging the lights, the autoexposure on the GoPro would’ve gone haywire.

2. I also composed the music the night before I shot any footage, rather than scoring a soundtrack or using a pre-existing piece of my music and plopping it into the piece.  It’s a small distinction but the turnaround time for this video was much shorter, about 4 hours over 2 days, than the week or so I spent on “Unity” and “Exile” thinking about the footage and what shape it should have.

3. I had a bit of a storyboard to my usual scribbled shot list, and a few shots done as a mockup for the model to see before we shot the video.

There were cosmetic differences of course, but the 3 items above were key process differences that helped this get made.  The more I plan and prepare, the less time I have to spend trying to sort out a mess of footage after the fact.

If you enjoy any of this work I encourage you to like it and share it!  For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

