“Unity” – Video art with Lacheln

Video art created with model Lacheln.  The footage is entirely from my GoPro Hero 4 Black Edition, shot with 120 fps.  The animation bits were shot with my Fuji X-T1, converted with Lightroom, cut apart in Photoshop and brought to life in After Effects.  The actual video was created in Premiere, including all layering/ mirroring effects, and the soundtrack (recorded on iPad Garageband but with Waldorf Nave and Animoog synths) was mixed in Audition, bringing the total of Adobe programs used to 5!

When we made this, I spent about 10 seconds setting up the GoPro and then concentrated on shooting the rest for around 15 minutes, working from a list of shots we came up with while Lacheln was doing her hair and makeup.

The music was crafted a week or so after the shoot as I didn’t really want to make a “music video” where visuals fit a pre-existing song.  It was more interesting for me to do a soundtrack piece that fit the vibe of the visuals.  Secret fact though- I picked 60 bpm for my tempo since I was working with original 120 fps video, even though my slowing down of the video varied from 25% to 50%… point is, those mathematical calculations factor in to the creative choices we have to make.

Let me know what you think in the comments below!  Also, if you enjoy any of this work I encourage you to like it and share it!  For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

