New Exhibit at ASU Gammage

show flierFrom January 22-March 5 I have a solo exhibition at Arizona State University’s Gammage Auditorium.  It’s the kind of venue that hosts Broadway shows and isn’t always open to the public outside of show times, but ASU was my alma mater and with 3000 attendees per night at those shows, I’m very proud to be on display.

I chose 14 pieces that spanned 2010-2014, were family friendly, and for the large part hadn’t been part of previous exhibits locally.  This included some relatively old images, like this one of model Lacheln or the representation of Medusa as body painted by artist Jamie Graden on model Angel Lin.

2015-01-26 10.23.11One of my favorite things to do is put on a photo show, but I’ve always struggled with aesthetic of large framed flat pieces as wall art.  One of my 2015 goals is to have shows that have a variety of experiences and formats- for example, laser cut mirrored acrylic pieces, my custom view masters for patrons to check out the work, video art projection, and so on.  Some of my more recent art table experiences have been like this and I can say with certainty that patrons remember and enjoy experiences with unusual presentation of images more than they do with flat prints.  The flat prints almost feel like ancillary souvenirs of the experience rather than the actual art in itself.

If you enjoy any of this work I encourage you to like it and share it!  For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

