Jigsaw Kelly – How It Got Made

“Jigsaw Kelly” is a recent piece I made that blends two puzzles together based on photos I took with model Kelly Eden, mua Brittany Moody and hair stylist Laura Buenrostro. Two convenient Egyptian hairless cats were prominently featured. I have to admit when I shot this I had no idea if it would work, but the company I made the puzzles with- Shutterfly- had an online preview of the puzzles that showed how the “cut” remained the same on both images.

The assemblage of the individual puzzles took about 4 hours, with the second one being much easier because I could overlay segments. The final gestalt puzzle was more difficult because the many of the cuts weren’t exactly the same- so pieces that looked like they should fit wouldn’t- and also because it required careful removal of individual pieces from the interior of the finished puzzles.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

