Maggie’s Many Moods in Black and White

2014-05-06 16.57.33

I recently switched from PC to Mac and that means several days of transferring data and setting up new Lightroom libraries with Adobe Creative Cloud. The upshot of the new libraries is I’ve been looking through my archive and finding gems, particularly these ones of my daughter Maggie.  The 5K resolution on the Macbook Pro- and it’s blazing speed compared to my Samsung ultrabook- make it a pure pleasure to work on things, knocking these out with perhaps 10 seconds of editing time each. untitled (130 of 162)

Maggie will be 7 in 2015 and it’s getting to the point where I’m getting a nice narrative of her life through facial expressions and adventures.  This week she figured out how to bicycle without training wheels, and got a ridiculous amount of Frozen and Minecraft merch from Santa.
untitled (144 of 162)

One thing my daughter seems to really get is that the best subjects are acting during their portrait.  She just happens to be a “ham” of an actress.  Many of the models I have shot recently haven’t tried to express any emotion whatsoever, not even in a “heroin chic” style fashion shoot, and it’s very frustrating because the images come across as lifeless.

untitled-17

If you enjoy any of this work I encourage you to like it and share it!  For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

