Inspiration + Influence: James + “Moving On”

James is one of a few musical acts I’ve caught multiple times (4 to be exact- 1997, 1999, 2011 and 2012).  They have several qualities I admire – positive vibes, unpretentiousness, energy, leftist politics, pro-women and pro-gay.  They write songs that are artistic and relatable to the average bear, not an easy combination.  “Moving On” is one of those perfect combinations, the message of which is even more expertly communicated by Ainslie Henderson’s stunning video with yarn people.

Can emotion be communicated without faces, by inanimate objects?  Absolutely.  These yarn people will break your hear and fill your heart.  I know exactly what it’s like to have a parent dying in a hospital bed and what it’s like the first time your baby clutches your thumb.  I feel very strongly that art should be about actual human experiences and not esoteric questions of the art world.

I’m working on ways to bring the clay sculpture and photography I do closer together and this gives me a lot of inspiration.

This may be my favorite music video of all time.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

