The Cold Message

Starting to write people of interest to photograph in Vancouver for August.

If Macedonia + Greece taught me anything, it’s hard to go to a new place and not know anyone to photograph.  My wife knew so many people in Macedonia, or met people through other people, that it was very easy to find subjects and even do 2 model shoots.  We knew nobody in Greece and didn’t have time to meet anyone and it’s just snapshots.  I like photos with living things (people and animals) and even if I shoot interesting landscape and textures and historical things, those images don’t fit in with my style of art.  I don’t have a whole lot to say with landscapes.

I could travel and not shoot models, but a large part of my art is based around model photography (as much as many classic painters and illustrators base themselves around painting people/ women in particular) and thanks to social networking it’s relatively easy to make art while traveling.  Go to a city for a day or two, have a couple models lined up and shoot for 2 hours, get out of there with all the raw material for art.

But I really hate writing and sending that opening message!  You have to explain yourself, what you want, if there’s any compensation whatsoever (which there usually isn’t beyond the promise of my particular style of quality photos), and pretend to know all the details of something a month away, and do it in about 3 sentences.  It’s like being a door-to-door salesman.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

