Locations: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Taken at the Nuclear Museum in Albuquerque, NM.
Taken at the Nuclear Museum in Albuquerque, NM.

If you’ve read my blog for a while you know I have a fondness for New Mexico like no other.  I originally moved to the Phoenix area after high school, moved back to my lame home state of Nebraska, then returned to Phoenix when I got married, so I obviously love Arizona, but it’s easier to be romantic and inspired by places we don’t live.

Albuquerque is central enough that one can access most of New Mexico while staying in a major city.  They have great weather, scenic mountains, cool culture, and unique attractions/ events.  In years past I’d attended the Balloon Fiesta, photographed Petroglyph National Monument, hit up Old Town and the Aquarium/ Zoo combo.

DSCF0118

This May I had time and money for only one paid activity, so I chose the Nuclear Museum.  Air and space/ military/ Cold War type museums are a huge interest to me and no one else in my family, so I figured it’d be the kind of thing I could do on my lonesome without regret.  Inside I shot textures of the Cold War tech and outside I did panos of missiles, planes and submarines against a super dramatic skyline.

Driving out of town all I could think of is bringing the whole family, riding the tram, shooting the Balloon Fiesta again with 10 years more experience on my belt.  We would do short day trips through the Turquoise Trail and Acoma Sky City.  At night, when I’d be sick of photographing, we’d take the Breaking Bad tour and find Hank and Walt’s houses.  Every photographer needs a place that inspires them to shoot a lot and Albuquerque is that for me.

For more photoworks goodness peruse my Etsy shop,  become a patron at Patreon, follow on tumblr and twitter and instagram, and rummage around on my full site

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

