Spectrum Fantastic Art Live Preview

Spectrum Fantastic Art Live Preview

I’m headed to Kansas City this weekend for Spectrum Fantastic Art Live- initially described to me as “the art side of comic conventions without the other stuff.” The other stuff meaning, little to no cosplay, chotchkies, “media” guests. I’m excited and nervous, but I’ve got my little artist alley table and have no other obligations beyond having a good art-centric weekend.

In preparation for the show I spent a month cranking out mixed media pieces like this one. Mostly they are repurposed older works- things that had fantasy, retro pinup, scifi and Renaissance art qualities- but I did shoot some brand new material specifically for these mixed media pieces with my longtime muse Lacheln. The image presented here has an unintentional Joker look to it- perhaps that stuff is so infused in my brain that I can’t NOT make comic-y images.

Xerox transfer on clayboard with colored pencil, charcoal and watercolor.

 

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

