Fuji Neo Classic Instax Mini + the design of a Camera

One of my new toys is a Fuji Instax Mini camera.  It’s the Neo Classic, designed in a similar casing as my X-E1, retro with silver trim.  The other Instax series cameras are rounded and kind of goofy in appearance.  It’s important to me to take my camera seriously, which sounds somewhat shallow, but it’s the truth;  with a good looking camera I strive to make pictures worthy of the device.  I couldn’t ever take my lomo cameras, and the photography I did with them, seriously because they looked like/ felt like plastic junk.

The Neo Classic has a cool feature that allows background brightness (“L+”) and also includes Bulb and Double Exposure settings, justifying the $100 markup vs. other instax mini cameras.  Image

Instax Mini are 1/2 Polaroid size and that makes them easy for someone like me who is used to composing in a long rectangle aspect ration.  There’s no “hide it from the light for 30 minutes” like the overpriced Impossible Project films, and of course instant film is a lot of fun for the kids.

With upcoming trips throughout Spring and Summer, I had a strong desire to shoot hundreds of these little babies and get instant memorabilia to either give away or assemble collage style or do mixed media on immediately.  The Neo Classic is as stylish and creative a photographic tool as you’re likely to find.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

