Hipstamatic Addict

Image

My final bit of new tech for 2013 was an iPhone 5s.  I was all Android until I got an iPad 4 at the start of 2013, and the creative options available to the iOs user are beyond what Android has, bar none.  A particular app of interest that was only available for the iPhone was the Hipstamatic, which mimics a variety of camera lenses and film types (and flash types) in the process of shooting.  Android has a similar app called Retro Camera, which only has 6 types of “old camera” looks and aren’t really customizable; Instagram alters the photo after you take it and forces the image to be part of its social network.  Long-time blog readers have heard me rant about Instagram before, particularly the sinister undertones of parent company Facebook needing to monetize it’s billion-dollar purchase.

Hipstamatic has none of those limitations/ ominous qualities, and for once it feels like I’m actually using another camera instead of a clunky app on my phone.  I’ve been able to get a lot of very quiet moments with my kids and the quality is superb, along the lines of how I’d process raw images anyways.ImageImage

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

