Shooting with Ana Pt. 1

Ana checkered 2
Instax shot with Ana

It’s no understatement that Anastasia Arteyeva is one of my favorite people to photograph.  One of Ana’s best qualities is she is fearless to ideas and not worried about, say, getting feet dirty or looking “unpretty” by rolling her eyes back or making a bizarre expression- except that time I mentioned “tears of teeth”.  These kinds of models want to make great images as much as the photographer does and are willing to do what it takes to make those images.

I shot Ana 3 times last year and in the year since it had been exactly 12 months since I last worked with her, so I had a long list of shots I’d wanted to do whenever we caught up.  I usually get partway down that list until we start shooting extra stuff that comes up spontaneously.  Usually the best work is from that spontaneous inspiration, such as noticing the couch in the studio had a checkered pattern that matched this outfit.  I’ve got some of the instax/ polaroids of this set up for grabs at Etsy currently.

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

