Locations: Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo

DSC_9596-Edit
inside the ape house

I grew up attending Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo and I measure all other zoos against it.  It has an indoor rainforest, aviary, gorillas, a penguin house, amazing aquarium, IMAX and more for only $15.  In Phoenix, you’re lucky to see any animals at all, and you tend to be so far from them I photograph more plants than animals.  Animals in captivity is a touchy subject but I honestly believe my love for animals was born through childhood trips to the zoo.  This particular trip I decided to focus on the nature of the captivity by shooting the environments the zoo provides.

DSC_9509-Edit
a different room at the ape house

I also love shooting jellyfish at the zoo, they are ridiculously beautiful creatures.

DSC_9718
jellyfishing

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

