Shooting What Interests You

You really should shoot what interests you.  That goes for commercial photography, artistic photography, family or medical or forensic or military or documentary or journalistic or food or stock photography.

The original Batmobile from the 1960s Batman TV Show, shot at the Chandler Classic Car Show.
The original Batmobile from the 1960s Batman TV Show, shot at the Chandler Classic Car Show.

Nothing is harder for me than slogging through images that I have no passion for.  Sometimes I can trick myself into doing a good job by reminding myself of my love of the general art of photography, but it’s not too far from when I took drawing classes in school and I was told to work on these still lives of bottles and fruit set up by the instructor.  Bottles and fruit, oh boy.  You spend a third of your life drawing superheroes, robots, monsters and cartoon women, and drawing realistically shaded bottles and fruit is supposed to get me excited?  I’d rather clean toilets.

Comic artist Tony Parker and the cover of his Eisner nominated comic Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?
Comic artist Tony Parker and the cover of his Eisner nominated comic Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

There are things I didn’t know I was interested in until I shot them… fashion and cars/ motorcycles.

But if pressed for things that occupy my brain on a daily basis, it is (in no particular order)

animals

travel/ culture

women

movies

kids and their lives

politics

music

graphic design/ illustration/ assorted visual arts

In fact The Wife asked me if I were to draw, if I drew on a regular basis, I said without hesitation “women.”  Adam Hughes, Art Adams style.  Then I thought more about it and I think I’d draw animals.  But I digress.

The point is, because I have an interest, I can do long term projects and stay engaged.

I can take the time to learn more about the subject and have a deeper pool of knowledge to draw from.

I can make contacts with other people who appreciate the topic, and maybe we pool resources and make better work.

I have something to say about the topic.  I get new ideas as the visual conversation continues.

I improve my photography because I want to shoot something better- learning to use tone mapping with vehicles, or getting a 300mm zoom lens and learning to do well with it because I want to shoot animals.

So… what interests you? And if you’re a photographer, how do you express that visually?

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

