Unnatural Nature Photography

Nature photography doesn’t come naturally for me.  I love nature but there definitely is confusion on my part on how to approach it creatively.  I’ll look at photo magazines, blogs, tutorials, and  there’s all kinds of interesting photomerges, macro work, epic vistas, etc. alongside the most overprocessed and banal images, and I haven’t found a specific way I want to shoot things.  In lieu of a plan, I have be going out daily with my camera and shooting nature the way I would shoot people.

nature_06
Chandler’s Environmental Education Center as shot with a star filter on the lens.

“Not having a plan” is no reason to not photograph.  Many of the best things that have happened to me personally and professionally are the result of not having big plans.  This is about shooting to get better at shooting, to enjoy using my camera, to spend time doing stuff with my kids, to be outdoors and healthy.

nature_04
shot at Phoenix Zoo
nature_05
@ Chandler’s Environmental Education Center
nature_03
@ Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo
nature_02
a bit of an all-over composition from Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo

nature_art_photo

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

