Secretly

Sophie Nova shot in her house
Sophie Nova shot in her house

Photo projects can take the form of a set, or gallery show, or book, or a bunch of other mutant forms of display. “Secretly” was a set of images I felt had enough of an intimate vibe that it really only worked as a book. If something is intimate, it feels wrong to have it in a gallery as people mill about with their shades on at night swilling the free wine.

Mosh shot in an apartment in Echo Park
Mosh shot in an apartment in Echo Park

Most of the photos are from 2012. I shot a lot of nude/ lingerie models and developed a style I really liked, where the setup was very minimal, in non-studio environments that had some vintage character to them. I used Silver EFEX Pro software by Nik for the majority of the processing, as well as my usual Lightroom tricks and my precious Lensbaby. A lot of the final images were inspired by how Man Ray would present nude studies, with a touch of surrealism or psychedelia.

Anastasia Arteyeva and Rebecca Lawrence shot in my house.
Anastasia Arteyeva and Rebecca Lawrence shot in my house.

Putting this together feels like I’ve broken through the tameness that I felt was limiting my photos. And even though it was a self-published blurb book, it has a very lovely quality that I think suits the work. The next step may be a limited set of prints done on some rag paper in a special packaging, but for now it’s a series that I’m proud of in its book form.

Sylva "Scar" shot in her kitchen
Sylva “Scar” shot in her kitchen

I should mention the models who are featured in the book- Mosh, Carlotta Champagne, Sierra McKenzie, Anastasia Arteyeva, Rebecca Lawrence, Glass Olive, Scar and Sophie Nova. They are all lovely people who are great artistic muses. There are any number of attractive women who a photographer can pay to model nude or nearly nude, but it’s a very small pool of models who make an image more than about the skin and transform it into art.

Sophie Nova shot in her house.
Sophie Nova shot in her house.
Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

