My Favorite Model

little girl model photoMy favorite model is my daughter Magdalena. She’s 4 going on 16, and been present on several of my model shoots. Maggie loves getting her photo taken and tapes prints of herself to her bed. She even gets into creative poses, gestures and expressions. I thought this may have come from observing models until I flipped through one of her Strawberry Shortcake coloring books and saw similar poses.

cosmic maggie
I imagine her becoming one of those elaborately styled models into her teen years, transforming into aliens and robots and being a photo actress.

purple jacket girl photo
Other photographers have stunning images of their children. Sally Mann is the first name I think of when I think about amazing child photography. There’s no complication to her style, she was merely open to the great moments. It probably never crossed Sally’s mind to avoid photographing certain moments, the way you sometimes feel certain moments with your family are too private to turn into art. I really admire that about Sally Mann.

little girl model photoSometime within the next month or so Maggie and I are headed into a cool studio to see what we can do with her done up as a creature or character.

little girl model photo

Published by

davidmillerphotoworks

I'm a multimedia artist in Phoenix, AZ. Main Site - http://www.primordialcreative.com Instagram @primordialcreative + twitter @dbmillerphoto

Leave a Reply

